"You're so excited and ready to get started.  I'm going to punch you."
These were Alyssa's words for me at three in morning earlier today, when I was getting more and more stoked up for being in Malawi and the work that we'll do. She had to remind me that even though the rooster is crowing, day time might still be several hours away, and I realized that . I was sitting in the darkness of our friends' lovely house in Lilongwe, thinking about all of ways I was ready to get started: It's avocado season! Maybe I'll work with the Malawian Union of the blind! Listen to all of those different kinds of birds!
This over exuberance is familiar to me (and all of the folks that traveled with me when I first joined Peace Corps), but I know that Malawi has the antidote: lots of calm, slow days, and many interesting things to look at, think about, and listen to.  Already, I've been so happy to see kids pushing wheels down the dusty back-roads, chat with my friends while idly watching the many varieties of birds, and talk with Alyssa about all of the ways we're surprised and what we're each looking forward to. She does prefer those conversations to take place during the daytime, though. 
Cindy
5/21/2013 10:18:50 am

So glad you have landed safely. May your excitement and wonder last the entire time! And BTW--Alyssa did not learn punching from me :-)

Reply
Nikki
5/28/2013 01:38:16 am

HA! What a great story! I can imagine how exciting this trip must be for both of you and can't wait to read more of your stories.

Reply
Tim O
6/26/2013 04:40:01 am

I remember wishing someone would punch that guy in October 2008. Thanks for the blog posts guys! Stop by Khwalala if you get a chance!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Authors

    Alyssa Morley is a PhD student with Michigan State University, studying Education Policy in Malawi. 
    Terence O'Neill researches libraries and assistive technology for vision-impaired populations.

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All